Restocking a Primary School Library

15 May

Image: jscreationzs / FreeDigitalPhotos.net

Last September I started teaching at a new school and was asked to do my dream job of being Literacy Coordinator. Part of my job is to run the school library which, although great, has a lot of dated books in it. I have been having a big sort out the past few months and am now in the position to order lots of new books! Woohoo! (Can you feel the excitement from here?????)

Anyway although I obviously have a wishlist as long as…well let’s just say it is very long…I wondered what other books people would recommend that I put in our library. Whether you are a teacher, librarian, parent, book fiend or whoever please share your top reads!

Regards,

A VERY excited bakingteacher.

5 Responses to “Restocking a Primary School Library”

  1. Diane@BibliophileBytheSea May 16, 2011 at 12:46 am #

    Your job must be very rewarding.

    • bakingteacher May 18, 2011 at 2:16 pm #

      So sorry I have just seen this! Yes I love my job, hard work but I feel incredibly lucky!

  2. Sally-Jayne May 18, 2011 at 11:06 pm #

    What a fabulous and exciting job you have there!
    Books that children have recommended to me recently are the Percy Jackson series, Skulduggery Pleasant, and Erin Hunter’s “Warrior” series, so they might be good ones to include. I’ve read Percy Jackson, and the children are right – they are excellent! I’ve not tried the others yet though.
    Jenny Nimmo’s Charlie Bone series is good too – it’s a bit like Harry Potter, but for younger readers.
    And maybe include some classics. I recently convinced a very reluctant reader (Year 6 boy) to give Tom Sawyer a go – and he loved it!
    Have fun restocking that library!

    • bakingteacher May 21, 2011 at 10:51 am #

      Thanks Sally-Jayne! I personally love the Skulduggery Pleasant series but haven’t managed to read any of the Percy Jackson yet. Thanks so much for the suggestions, I will check them out! Between the children, me, Twitter and the blog I am getting a lovely long list now!

  3. Georgette G. May 19, 2011 at 6:42 pm #

    Hi,
    It is a great job, but it is also a difficult job. Unless you have a “carte blanche” for shopping spree, it can be quite challenging to select from the many “great” books available today. How do you ignore a book? Do you decide on the purchase of a book on your own? or you have a team that decides collectively? Do you have a written criteria or guidelines for selection?

    As you can see, I come up with more questions than answers. I started my collection of cookbooks nearly 30 years ago, but about 10 years into my collection phase, I moved long distance, and the mover lost many of my belongings, including the entire box of cookbooks.

    I did not give up, however, and restarted the process. So, I have a a few baking books, and although I like all of them (I am very selective in my purchasing decision), the best I Like so far is the book by Cindy Mushet: “The Art and Soul of Baking.” it’s organization is just perfect, the writing is very clear and detailed and I like the side comment of “what the pros know” (pros meaning professionals). I think it can be a great reference book for a teacher.

Leave a Reply

